Codgev2 - status update

Support for hardware and software issues. Ask your question and (hopefully) someone will give you an answer.
Post Reply
oldcodge
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:20 pm

Codgev2 - status update

Post by oldcodge »

I've been working on codgev2 and it is close to ready. It is a re-write of the original patch and I think it is a worthwhile improvement.
Some of the changes are:

Fixes:
The web browser now works again.
Overnight EPG updates can be enabled/disabled with the remote.
The "connecting" message is no longer displayed at startup.
Remounting of the root filesystem is no longer used or necessary.
Symlinking of system files is no longer used or necessary.
System time is set and maintained via the network in normal mode.

Enhancements:
All actions now display an on-screen confirmation message.
The green button on the remote toggles overnight EPG updates on/off.
The patch version number is displayed at login.
The web browser loads the google homepage when run.
The green/yellow/blue remote buttons can optionally be disabled.
All files installed by the patch are now in one location (/settings/codge).
The files added by the patch are installed into a sane directory structure.
All installed binaries are now dynamically linked.
OpenSSH-6.1p1 built against openssl-1.0.1c and zlib-1.2.7
Rsync updated to 3.0.9.
Added hexedit 1.2.12 for those who want to tinker.

The code is now simpler, safer and should be more reliable. I have been running it for a few weeks without problems.

I'm currently testing the installation script to ensure it installs safely and removes the codgev1 patch if it is present. This is hard to get right and the most time consuming as I only have one 3view to play with.

As before, it would help immensely if a couple of willing guinea pigs would be prepared to test the patch and provide good feedback. If you are interested please drop me a PM.

-codge

Kev
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:00 pm

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by Kev »

oldcodge.
Your dedication to this problem never ceases to amaze me .
I would not be a candidate for a guinea pig as my box is being used in a different way to others here.
I am not connected to a network and use the box to receive signals from southern Ireland as well as Freeview.
For some reason I can't explain I have not had a single crash in EPG mode since receiving the Saorview service.
Weird.
Best regards Kev

larkim
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:53 am

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by larkim »

Happy to help - I've got two boxes going, so I can test stuff on the one that the kiddy-winks use, and keep the one I (and importantly SWMBO!) use perfectly stable!!

Let me know what you'd like me to do; the least I can do given the help you've provided so far!

Cheers!

Matt
2 x 3view PVR, both on CodgeView. Winter Hill region.

Pip
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:31 am

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by Pip »

I'd be happy to try it out. Sir.

IB1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:28 pm

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by IB1 »

I'd be happy as well. My box is just being used as a backup to my trusty Topfield at the moment ... so anything I can do to help.

Ian

readuni1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by readuni1 »

I can give the new code revision a try

larkim
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:53 am

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by larkim »

How does the enabling / disabling of the yellow and blue buttons operate?
2 x 3view PVR, both on CodgeView. Winter Hill region.

IB1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:28 pm

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by IB1 »

How does the enabling / disabling of the yellow and blue buttons operate?
If you telnet into your box (running v2) it will bring up a list of new commands. "remoteoff" should do it.

My box is running well with V2 at the moment.

Ian

Coracleman
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:55 am

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by Coracleman »

oldcodge wrote:I've been working on codgev2 and it is close to ready. It is a re-write of the original patch and I think it is a worthwhile improvement.

Some of the changes are: [... snip ...]

The web browser loads the google homepage when run.

-codge
Like others I am impressed with the work, ideas and expertise that you are putting into all this and to think it's not that long since I seriously thought I'd have to bin the 3view. Thanks, again.

Meanwhile may I ask if when you are running the browser you can go back to google page (I've found that on our workaround this is not possible and I have to restart the web to get back to google)?

Cheers.

oldcodge
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:20 pm

Re: Codgev2 - status update

Post by oldcodge »

I'm not sure if this is what you mean but the "back" button on the remote takes you back to the previous page. Not sure if there is a keyboard / mouse equivalent as I don't use them (or the web browser itself to be honest).

-codge

Post Reply